Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/rocketry/rocketry.org/includes/constants.php on line 16

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/rocketry/rocketry.org/orgs/orgDetails.php on line 17

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/rocketry/rocketry.org/includes/function.getMain.php on line 177

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/rocketry/rocketry.org/orgs/orgDetails.php on line 69

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/rocketry/rocketry.org/includes/constants.php:16) in /home/rocketry/rocketry.org/includes/pageHeader.php on line 23
Rocketry.org | X Prize Foundation
Rocketry.org v3.0


Contact & Submit

Get Firefox!

This web site looks best in a more standards based browser like FireFox. It may not look as the developers intended in other browsers like Internet Explorer.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Valid CSS

X Prize Foundation logo

Organizations > X Prize Foundation

X Prize Foundation
c/o Sarah Evans
1441 4th Street
Suite 200
Santa Monica, CA 90401
United States

Phone, Main Office: (310) 587-3355
Phone, Media/Press Contact: (310) 582-5903
Fax: (310) 393-4207

The X PRIZE Foundation is the brainchild of Dr. Peter H. Diamandis who strongly believes that focused and talented teams in pursuit of a prize and acclaim can change the world.

In 1994, Gregg E. Maryniak gave Dr. Diamandis a copy of The Spirit of St. Louis, written by Charles Lindbergh. Dr. Diamandis realized that his lifelong dream of traveling into space could be made a reality through the creation of a prize similar to the one Lindbergh was awarded for crossing the Atlantic in an aircraft. In 1995, Diamandis established the X PRIZE Foundation with the assistance of Byron K. Lichtenberg, Colette M. Bevis and Gregg E. Maryniak. The Foundation received early funding from Tom Rogers and John McLucas and was initially headquartered in Rockville, Maryland. The concept of the X PRIZE was first announced in the pages of Ad Astra Magazine (National Space Society).

In early 1996, the St. Louis community - in a return to its roots as a center of the early aerospace industry - committed to provide additional seed funding to organize the Foundation and became the first headquarters of the X PRIZE Foundation. On May 18th, 1996, under the Arch in St. Louis, in front of a crowd of television cameras, reporters and proud onlookers, the creation of the X PRIZE competition was announced. The X PRIZE Foundation was also proud to have the participation of Erik and Morgan Lindbergh, Charles Lindbergh's grandchildren. Erik Lindbergh remains a member of the X PRIZE Foundation Board of Trustees.

In May 2004, the X PRIZE was officially re-named the Ansari X Prize to reflect the generous multi-million dollar donation from the Ansari family. Later that same year, on October 4, 2004, the $10 million Ansari X PRIZE was awarded to Mojave Aerospace Ventures for the flight of SpaceShipOne.

Updated: October 19, 2007